KUBO Mayako


After graduation as pianist from Osaka College of Music she moves 1972
to Vienna for studying composition with Haubenstock-Ramati and Erich Urbanner
as well as music history and philosophy. In 1980, she moves to Germany
where she continues her compositional studies with Helmut Lachenmann in
Hanover and Stuttgart. In 1985, Kubo finally settles in Berlin, where
she is founding member of the Society for Contemporary Music ‘ZeitMusik’
organising concerts, symposia and multimedia-events. Between 1990 and
1994 she lives and works in Marino near Rome.

Since the mid 1980’s, Mayako Kubo has given lectures on contemporary
music and composition at various Universities of Music and Cultural
Institutes, for example in Fukushima, Kyoto, Vienna, Graz, Berlin, Cologne,
Hamburg and Tokyo. Her compositions have been performed at major international
music festivals and have been interpreted by renowned artists: Peter
Etvoes, Sylvain Cambreling, Bernd Kontalsky, Herbert Henck, Martin Mumelter,
Eberhard Blum, Konrad Junghanel, South German Radio Symphony Orchestra
Stuttgart (Suddeutsches Radiosymphonie Orchester Stuttgart), Southwest
Radio Orchestra (Sudwestfunk Orchester), Philharmonic Orchestra Graz
(Grazer Philharmonie), Kyoto Symphony Orchestra, Schola Cantorum Stuttgart,
Klangforum, Ensemble Modern, ensemble Integrales, Hagen-Quartett. Kubo’s
?vre, currently more than seventy compositions, has been published by
Ariadne Verlag, Breitkopf & Hartel and Verlag Neue Musik.

Major works and activities in recent years

  • 2005 First performance of the opera "Osan‐Shinjuten no Amijimamonogatari", commissioned by Shinkokuritsugekijo
  • 2003 Member of the Judge Committee for City of Berlin Composition Award, Member of the Judge Comittee for Brandenburg Junior Composition Award
  • 2002 First performance of the Japanese version of the opera Rashomon at Nissay Theatre, Tokyo
  • 2002 First performance of the music drama Hyperion-Fragmente, at National Music Academy Rheinsberg commissioned by National Music Academy Rheinsberg
  • 2000 First performance of Second Symphony in Kyoto, by Kyoto Symphonic Orchestra
  • 2000 First performance of First Symphony in Graz, by Philharmonic Orchestra Graz
  • 2000 First performance of the string quartet IWDH for string quartet with e-guitar at the festival ’Horgange’, Vienna
  • 1999 First performance of the saxophone quartet Volksliedverzerrungen at the festival ’Horgange’, Vienna
  • 1998 - 2000 Series of portrait concerts in Vienna, Cologne, Berlin, Hamburg, Graz, Reda-Wiedenbruck
  • 1998 Revival of the opera Rashomon at opera house Graz
  • 1996 and 1998 Several performances at the festival ’Wien Modern’
  • 1996 First performance of the opera Rashomon at opera house Graz, commissioned by opera house Graz and the festival ‘steirischer herbst’
  • 1996 First performance of the piece for chamber orchestra Yasuko aus dem Schwarzen Regen at the festival ‘Wien Modern’ and the festival ‘Musikprotokoll’


  • Berlinisches Tagebuch CD: CTH 2244
  • Imakosowa-Brich auf! CD: Durian 097/098-2
  • Rashomon CD: edition Ariadne AD 998001
  • 7 Spiele CD: Ambitus 97841
  • Versuch uber den Turm von Pisa CD: FER 20014
  • Yasuko aus dem Schwarzen Regen CD: ORF/MP30/4-6
  • Dialogus iuvenum CD: Kreuzberg records kr.10042
  • Il re solo CD: Kreuzberg records kr.10042
■“Umwege“ for Violoncello and Guitar (2008)(Verlag Neue Musik) (Score and parts)



There is no schedule in the database for the moment.